WHAT'S IN HELLMANN'S PLANT BASED MAYONNAISE?
HELLMANN’S PLANT BASED MAYO — FORMERLY HELLMANN’S VEGAN MAYO
RAPID REVIEW
Updated October 2026
Vegan Mayonnaise is made without any dairy and without the eggs traditionally used in Mayonnaise. There are many possible ingredients when making homemade Vegan Mayo:
Shown below, Hellmann’s Plant Based Mayo has Canola Oil and Water as the first two ingredients and contains two FDA-recognized Chemical Preservatives which are banned at Whole Foods Market. (Sources: U.S. FDA 2026; Unilever Hellmann’s Website 10/26; Amazon Whole Foods Website 10/26)
CLOSEST TO HOMEMADE VEGAN MAYOS: Following are three Closest To Homemade Vegan Mayos made with the type of ingredients we might use at home to make Vegan Mayo. These contain no Dairy, Eggs, Flavors, Colors or Artificial Preservatives. These include Organic Fabalish Classic Mayo with Cold Pressed Organic High-Oleic Sunflower Oil; Non-GMO Project verified Chosen Foods Vegan Mayo made with Avocado Oil, and Dr. Fuhrman Nuttynaise with no added oil made with Organic Cashews. (Sources: Brand Websites 10/26)
Neither money nor products are ever accepted to appear on the Closest To Homemade list
Discover food + beverages whose ingredients are Closest To Homemade in 300+ categories. Neither money nor products are ever accepted to appear on the Closest To Homemade list.
Follow us at:
If you find Ingredient Inspector .Org provides valuable information, please consider supporting our work:

